Chartered in 1875, the St. Louis Rowing Club flourished until the mid-50s. It occupied one of nine large clubhouses that lined the Mississippi River. These facilities were complete with boat and equipment storage areas, hot showers, meeting and dining rooms and dance floors. The St. Louis Rowing Club also had a gym that was used by members and by amateur and professional boxers and wrestlers, as well as a bowling alley. In the 20s the club had as many as 800 members.
Address: 13777 Marine Avenue, St. Louis, MO, United States, 63146
Year Established: 1877
Total Members: 800
Club Colors: Red, white and blue
The Rower's Almanac Inc.